1950 College World Series

June 15, 1950 - June 23, 1950  •  Rosenblatt Stadium, Omaha, Nebraska  •   Attendance: 17,805

Texas steps to second straight crown

Front page (click to expand)

Series highlights

Texas became the first team to win two consecutive College World Series.

Former Texas football and baseball star Bibb Falk led the Longhorns to the first title at Rosenblatt Stadium with a 3-0 victory against Washington State.

Jim Ehrler also tossed the first no-hitter in CWS history, against Tufts College in the third round. Ehrler struck out 14 Jumbos.

Ehrler also came close to pitching a shutout in the championship game, but was replaced by a pinch runner after in the seventh.

Ehrler also was the only pitcher to earn a win in the championship game on two separate occasions (1949, 1950).

Most Outstanding Player

Ray VanCleef, Rutgers

The junior center fielder batted .458 (11 for 24) in the series while leading the Knights to a co-runner-up finish. Van Cleef batted .404 in 1950, in which he also set the Rutgers single-season record for triples with seven.

Series notes

Note: All-Tournament team selections were not handed out prior to the 1958 College World Series.

Games played in 1950 CWS

Search options