1955 College World Series

June 10, 1955 - June 16, 1955  •  Rosenblatt Stadium, Omaha, Nebraska  •   Attendance: 21,843

McGinley carries Wake Forest to first crown

Front page (click to expand)

Series highlights

It was the first title for Wake Forest, which had previously suffered a 10-3 loss to Texas in the 1949 finals. This time, the Demon Deacons went 5-1 to burn through the bracket.

Jack McGinley, a Wake Forest sophomore, earned three victories in the tournament.

Frank McRae opened his five at-bats with a double before rattling off four straight singles, driving in three runs.

Due to the championship event's inability to be burdensome for its Omaha underwriters (the series actually cost money), a World-Herald columnist and American Association of College Baseball Coaches discussed a four-team series be implemented by the NCAA to cut down on travel expenses and room and board previously provided for eight teams. The plan never came to fruition.

Most Outstanding Player

Tom Borland, Oklahoma State

Borland came into the series with a 9-0 record, then earned two wins and picked up a save in relief during the tournament.

The left-hander pitched nearly 24 innings, striking out 26 and surrendering nine walks.

Series notes

Note: All-Tournament team selections were not handed out prior to the 1958 College World Series.

Games played in 1955 CWS

Search options