1980 College World Series

May 30, 1980 - June 6, 1980  •  Rosenblatt Stadium, Omaha, Nebraska  •   Attendance: 95,406

Base running key to Arizona victory

Front page (click to expand)

Series highlights

Arizona coach Jerry Kindall cited aggressiveness on the bases as a key in his team's 5-3 championship-clinching victory.

He said the Wildcats' sixth-inning run — a by-product of Dwight Taylor's steal of second — helped secure the victory over Hawaii.

The second-ranked Wildcats, by beating No. 5 Hawaii, became the eighth team in CWS history to win the title after losing in the first round. Other teams to win the championship after losing their opener were Texas, 1950; Southern California, 1958, 1963, and 1970; Arizona State, 1969; and Cal State Fullerton in 1979.

Most Outstanding Player

Terry Francona, Arizona

Francona's six-game credentials included 11 hits in 24 at-bats (.458), five runs scored, six RBIs, two doubles, one triple, one home run and three stolen bases.

He led the tournament with 18 total bases and had 12 putouts and one assist, committing no errors.

Series notes

All-Tournament Team

Wes Clements, Arizona, 1b, Sr.
Paul Hundhammer, Miami (Fla.), 2b, Sr.
Kimo Perkins, Hawaii, 3b, Jr.
Eric Tokunaga, Hawaii, ss, Jr.
Terry Francona, Arizona, lf, Jr.
Lyle Brackenridge, California, cf, Sr.
Jim Paciorek, Michigan, rf, So.
Collin Tanabe, Hawaii, c, Jr.
Paul Maruffi, St. John's (N.Y.), dh, Jr.
Craig Lefferts, Arizona, p, Sr.
Greg Barger, Arizona, p, Jr.

Games played in 1980 CWS

Search options