1990 College World Series

June 1, 1990 - June 9, 1990  •  Rosenblatt Stadium, Omaha, Nebraska  •   Attendance: 138,426

College World Series 1990, Georgia strong-armed OSU to win title

The World-Herald

Georgia strong-armed OSU to win title

Front page (click to expand)

Series highlights

The title game, before 16,482, closed out a 52-19 season for the Bulldogs, who became the first team from the Southeastern Conference to win a national championship. Oklahoma State lost for the third time in the championship game under Ward and finished 56-17.

The championship game capped a five-game string of impressive Georgia pitching performances. The Bulldogs' 1.40 ERA was the lowest by a CWS champion since Arizona State's 1.37 in 1967, and they allowed only 26 hits in 45 innings.

Right-hander Mike Rebhan, who defeated Stanford twice, was named the tournament's outstanding player. Dave Fleming finished 1-1, plus a save. Stan Payne, the only other pitcher the Bulldogs used in the tournament, came through with the game of his life.

Fleming and Payne kept the Cowboys misfiring, making Oklahoma State the first team to lose five times in the CWS championship game. Three of the losses — in 1981, 1987 and this year — were under Ward.

"We were just fortunate today to have two good pitchers who could stop their hitting," Webber said. "That's what this game boiled down to."

Most Outstanding Player

Mike Rebhan, Georgia

The senior right-hander beat Stanford twice with complete-game performances. The second sent the Bulldogs into the championship game.

"This is like a Cinderella story," Rebhan said. "The last baseball game I might ever play. Just for me to be successful out here and help my team to the national championship is like a dream come true."

Series notes

All-Tournament Team

Doug Radziewicz, Georgia, 1b, Jr.
Troy Paulsen, Stanford, 2b, Jr.
Bobby Carlsen, Oklahoma St., 3b, Sr.
Brad Beanblossom, Oklahoma St., ss, Sr.
Tim Clark, LSU, of, Jr.
Jeff Hammonds, Stanford, of, Fr.
Jason Rychlick, Citadel, of, Jr.
Michael Daniel, Oklahoma St., c, Jr.
Lyle Mouton, LSU, dh, Jr.
Dave Fleming, Georgia, p, Jr.
Mike Rebhan, Georgia, p, Sr.

Games played in 1990 CWS

Search options