2005 College World Series

June 17, 2005 - June 26, 2005  •  Rosenblatt Stadium, Omaha, Nebraska  •   Attendance: 263,475

College World Series 2005, Men of steer

Men of steer

Front page (click to expand)

Series highlights

Three hundred sixty four days after leaving Rosenblatt Stadium as red-faced runners-up, Texas celebrated a national championship in 2005. J. Brent Cox's strikeout of Florida's Stephen Barton sealed Texas' 6-2 victory and a sweep of the College World Series best-of-three championship series.

A year before, Taylor Teagarden was among the Longhorns who refused to come out to accept the second-place trophy after getting swept in the championship series by Cal State Fullerton. They said it was a mix-up, even though NCAA officials had informed them of the on-field ceremony. They were roasted in the days that followed for what some perceived as a lack of sportsmanship.

The 2005 championship came from a group that struggled at various times during the season, finishing third in its conference.

But once they hit Omaha, the Longhorns were unbeatable in five wins that hiked their record to 56-16. Texas outscored its five opponents 24-8. Texas pitchers posted a 1.40 ERA and struck out 41 hitters in 45 innings. The defense was outstanding, turning six double plays and committing just three errors.

No two Longhorns stepped up more on championship Sunday than pitcher Kyle McCulloch and third baseman David Maroul. McCulloch, a sophomore right-hander, picked up his second CWS win, and his 12th of the season, with a dominating performance that saw Florida (48-23) go hitless until the fifth inning.

Most Outstanding Player

David Maroul, Texas

Maroul became just the fifth third baseman in history to claim the award after hitting .500 for the CWS and starring in both games of Texas' championship series sweep of Florida.

In Sunday's 6-2 win, Maroul hammered a three-run home run and drove in the game's first run with one of his two singles.

In Saturday's 4-2 victory, he hit a two-run homer and added a single and a double.

Series notes

All-Tournament Team

Taylor Teagarden, Texas, c, Jr.
Jeff Larish, Arizona St., 1b, Sr.
Joey Hooft, Arizona St., 2b, Sr.
David Maroul, Texas, 3b, Sr.
Seth Johnston, Texas, ss, Sr.
Colin Curtis, Arizona St., of, So.
Travis Buck, Arizona St., of, Jr.
Andy Gerch, Nebraska, of, Fr.
Will Crouch, Texas, dh, Sr.
Kyle McCulloch, Texas, p, So.
J. Brent Cox, Texas, p, Jr.

Games played in 2005 CWS

Search options