2007 College World Series

June 15, 2007 - June 24, 2007  •  Rosenblatt Stadium, Omaha, Nebraska  •   Attendance: 300,702

College World Series 2007, Beavers 'always believed'

James R. Burnett / The World-Herald

Beavers 'always believed'

Front page (click to expand)

Series highlights

Texas, Southern California, Louisiana State and Stanford had been the only schools to win back-to-back championships at the College World Series until the Beavers pulled off the feat in 2007. Their 9-3 victory over North Carolina assured them that the championship trophy would rest for another year in Corvallis, Ore.

In doing so, Oregon State continued writing what one rival coach called the most remarkable story in college baseball in the past quarter century. Prior to 2005, the school had accomplished very little on the national stage and achieved only limited success in its own conference.

The Beavers lost seven starting position players, two of their top three pitchers and their closer off the team that won the 2006 national championship by defeating North Carolina. They returned Barney, one of the smoothest fielders ever to set foot on the grass at Rosenblatt Stadium, and catcher Mitch Canham, one of the fiercest competitors Oregon State coach Pat Casey had ever encountered.

The Beavers never stopped believing when others were doubting whether they were going to make the NCAA tournament. They were a game away from elimination in the regional in Virginia, then went on a 10-game winning streak that sealed their championship run.

Oregon State broke through in 2005 when Casey got them to Omaha for only the second time in school history.

"Everyone kept talking about how we were here to defend our title," Casey said. "I told our guys we weren't defending anything. The one we won in 2006 is ours to keep. We came to Omaha in pursuit of another. We weren't trying to protect anything."

Most Outstanding Player

Jorge Reyes, Oregon State

The news media voted the OSU freshman most outstanding player of the CWS after he went 2-0, winning OSU's opening game of the series and the opening game of the finals.

Reyes was just the fifth freshman in the 61 years of the CWS to be voted most outstanding player. The others: Texas pitcher Huston Street in 2002; Miami third baseman Pat Burrell in 1996; Stanford outfielder Paul Carey in 1987; and Tulsa first baseman Jerry Tabb in 1971.

Reyes finished the season 7-3 with a 3.10 ERA. In postseason play, he was 3-0 with a 2.13 ERA.

Series notes

All-Tournament Team

Mitch Canham, Oregon St., c, Jr.
Dustin Ackley, North Carolina, 1b, Fr.
Joey Wong, Oregon St., 2b, Fr.
Diego Seastrunk, Rice, 3b, Fr.
Darwin Barney, Oregon St., ss, Fr.
Bryan Petersen, UC Irvine, of, Jr.
Tim Fedroff, North Carolina, of, Fr.
Scott Santschi, Oregon St., of, Sr.
Mike Lissman, Oregon St., dh, Sr.
Jorge Reyes, Oregon St., p, Fr.
Andrew Carignan, North Carolina, p, Jr.

Games played in 2007 CWS

Search options