Frequently asked questions

The second session of the 105th Legislature convened Jan. 3 in Lincoln. The 60-day session runs through April 18.
Here are a few details about how the Legislature operates.

What’s the deal with the unicameral legislature?

Nebraska has the only one-house state legislature in the country. Instead of a House and a Senate, there’s only one chamber, sometimes called the Unicameral. Nebraska also has the nation’s only nonpartisan legislature.

Is it really nonpartisan?

Unlike the U.S. Congress or other state legislatures, lawmakers run for office in the Nebraska Legislature without party labels, and political parties have no recognized role in choosing legislative leaders or committee members.

Why did Nebraska go for this idea?

Former U.S. Sen. George Norris persuaded Nebraskans to make the change in 1934. He argued that it would be less costly and more efficient than a two-house legislature because there would be fewer members. He also argued that it would be more open to public scrutiny and less prone to corruption. The first unicameral Legislature met in 1937.

How many senators are there and how much do they make?

The 49 state senators make $12,000 annually, plus per-diem payments to cover transportation costs and other expenses. Nebraska has the smallest legislature in the country.

What are their main duties?

The Legislature makes the laws of the state and appropriates money for state purposes. It proposes amendments to the state constitution, which voters then approve or reject. It also approves state officials appointed by the governor and provides oversight of government operations.

How does a bill become law?

Senators can introduce bills during the first 10 days of a legislative session. Each bill is referred to a legislative committee for consideration. The committee must hold a public hearing on the bill, after which committee members can vote on whether to advance the bill to the full Legislature. To pass, a bill must make it through three rounds of debate and voting by the full Legislature. After a bill passes, it goes to the governor to be signed or vetoed. If a bill is vetoed, the Legislature can pass it with 30 votes to override the veto.

When does a bill become law?

Most bills take effect, or become law, three months after the legislative session ends.

How can I follow the action?

You can keep up with legislative developments in The World-Herald or at You can watch legislative debate and public hearings live online. Debates by the full Legislature also are broadcast on NET2. The legislature website has lots of information, including daily debate agendas, weekly public hearing schedules and the language and status of bills and amendments.

How can I get involved?

Contact your senator or other senators by calling their offices, sending an email or writing a letter. You can testify at a public hearing or submit written testimony about a bill. Anyone can testify at a hearing but the length of testimony might be limited to accommodate more speakers.